Walang Forever, My Bebe Love top MMFF awards

Honor Thy Father took home five awards, too.


(SPOT.ph) Despite the controversy surrounding the disqualification of Erik Matti's Honor Thy Father from the MMFF Best Picture race, the awarding ceremony still continued as planned on December 27.


The rom-com Walang Forever dominated the award show with five major awards, including Best Actor (Jericho Rosales), Best Actress (Jennylyn Mercado), Best Screenplay, and the coveted Best Picture. The AlDub-starrer My Bebe Love was also a big winner, bagging 3rd Best Picture, the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural award, and the Best Supporting Actress award for Maine Mendoza.


Meanwhile, Nilalang (starring Cesar Montano and Maria Ozawa) also went home with five awards, including Best Editing and Best Cinematography. Matti's Honor Thy Father won five awards, including Best Supporting Actor (Tirso Cruz III) and Best Director (which he slammed via his Twitter account).



During the event, Walang Forever director Dan Villegas and All You Need is Pag-Ibig director Antoinette Jadaone encouraged the audience to support the MMFF, particularly Honor Thy Father. "Napanood ko po siya and I highly recommend it," he said.


The disqualification wasn't the only controversy that plagued the festival this year. There were earlier allegations of "ticket swapping," after a Twitter user claimed her ticket for My Bebe Love was swapped with a ticket for Beauty and the Bestie (starring Vice Ganda and Coco Martin). The former's director, Joey Javier Reyes, confirmed the incident.


Meanwhile, the MMFF has released statements on both issuesthey denied the ticket swapping and said that they "could have imposed stiffer sanctions" to Honor Thy Father.


Also read: Erik Matti wins best director, slams MMFF for Honor Thy Father's disqualification

Recommended Videos

Tell us your #feels!

Total votes
View more stories tagged

Help us make Spot.ph better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories