Sen. Frank Drilon is new Senate President

Juan Ponce Enrile becomes the new Minority Leader.

Dexter San Pedro of reports that Senator Franklin Drilon of the Liberal Party has been elected as the new Senate President after beating Senator Juan Ponce Enrile by 11 votes.


The report explained that following tradition, Drilon took his oath as Senate President from the youngest senator in the 16th Congress, Senator Paulo Benigno "Bam" Aquino. As Drilon's lone opponent for the position, Enrile automatically became the new Senate minority leader. All senators attended the first session of the new Congress and took part in the voting except for Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago, who was absent that day.


For more on this story, log on to

Tell us your #feels!

Total votes
View more stories tagged

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories