Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, Serena Williams to play tennis in Manila

Let’s hear it for the Manila Mavericks!

Ever wondered how loud Maria Sharapova really is when she serves? Yet another question in your life will soon get an answer as the Mall of Asia Arena becomes host to the International Premier Tennis League in the Philippines. Save the date: the games will be held on November 28 to 30.


The IPTL is a team-based tennis league and this year, 21 Grand Slam champions and 14 world number ones will play in Manila, Singapore, India, and Dubai.


Sharapova joins the Manila Mavericks team, playing with fellow tennis stars Andy Murray, Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Kirsten Flipkens, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, and Treat Huey. The Mavericks will play against the Singapore Slammers (Serena WilliamsThomas Berdych, Lleyton Hewitt, and Patrick Rafter), the UAE Royals (Richard Gasquet, Goran Ivanisevic, and Eugenie Bouchard), and the Indian Aces (Ana Ivanovic, Gael Monfils, and Fabrice Santoro).


For more information on the International Premier Tennis League, log on to the official Mall of Asia Arena website and

Recommended Videos


Also read: Love Game: Top 10 Hottest Tennis Players

Tell us your #feels!

Total votes
View more stories tagged

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories