Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo wins Best Picture at MMFF 2014

English Only Please and Kubot finish second and third

A Robin Padilla-starrer bags the Best Picture award again with Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo taking the top prize at the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival. The Andres Bonifacio biopic also finishes ahead of the Emilio Aguinaldo-inspired El Presidente, which was the Second Best Picture in 2012.


Directed by Enzo Williams, Bonifacio also won Best Cinematography and Best Musical Score. English Only Please and Kubot: Aswang Chronicles took the rest of the major awards, including the acting prizes for English Only leads Derek Ramsay and Jennylyn Mercado.


Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo
2nd Best Picture: English Only Please
3rd Best Picture: Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2

Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado for English Only Please
Best Actor: Derek Ramsay for English Only Please
Best Supporting Actress: Lotlot de Leon for Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2
Best Supporting Actor: Joey Marquez for Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2
Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon for My Big Bossing’s Adventures

Best Director: Dan Villegas for English Only Please
Best Screenplay: English Only Please
Best Original Story: English Only Please

Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza for Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo
Best Editing: Marya Ignacio for English Only Please

Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro for Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2
Best Visual Effects: Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2
Best Makeup: Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2

Best Original Theme Song: Von de Guzman for Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo
Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo
Best Festival Sound Engineer: Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo

Best Float: Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo


For more on this story, log on to

Recommended Videos

Tell us your #feels!

Total votes
View more stories tagged

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories