Say it to your crush: "Ta amayo contigo"

Plus, more ways to say "I love you" in Filipino.

( In celebration of the National Language Month (Buwan ng Wikang Pambansa), the office of Vice President Leni Robredo released an infographic on August 3 in her official Facebook account. Captioned "Wika ang gumigising sa diwa at nagbubuklod ng bansa. Atin itong mahalin, gamitin at pagyamanin. Isang maligayang Buwan ng Wika!," the image shows different ways of saying "I love you" in various Philippine languages (not to be mistaken as dialects).



These loving terms span across regions in the Philippines: "Mahal kita" (Tagalog), "Ichadaw ko imu" (Ivatan), "Ay-ayaten ka" (Ilocano), "Kaluguran da ka" (Kapampangan), "Inaro ta ka" (Pangasinense), and "Namumutan ta ka" (Bikol) for Luzon. "Pina-ura ta ikaw" (Waray), "Palangga gid ta ka" (Hiligaynon), "Ginapalangga ta ikaw" (Kinaray-a), and "Nahigugma ko nimo" (Cebuano) in the Visayas. For our brothers and sisters in Mindanao, "Kalinian ko seka" (Maguindanaon) and "Ta amayo contigo" (Chavacano) are used to declare love.


It was in 1997, through former President Fidel V. Ramos, that August was declared as the National Language Month. It coincides with the birth month of the Father of the Philippine National Language, former President Manuel L. Quezon. Though the national language is largely based on Tagalog (as implemented by the Commonwealth government in 1937), it doesn't mean that Ivatan, Ilocano, and other Philippine languages shouldn't be enriched, promoted, and celebrated. In fact, the Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino started a project called Atlas Filipinas, which aims to plot out all languages in the country using the Geographic Information System, in 2014.



Image from Leni Robredo's Facebook page

Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories