More major roads to follow "no window hours" policy by November 1

Are you ready for this?


( Unless you can afford a new car, you may have to gear up and start training for the MRT games—wading through a thick crowd of commuters and falling in line for hours until you're late for work.


The Metro Manila Council agreed on October 18 to expand the "no window hours" policy to other major thoroughfares in Metro Manila. This comes after the dry run period and first day of the new traffic rule along EDSA and C5. The window period refers to the five-hour time frame, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., when the Unified Vehicle Volume Reduction Program (a.k.a. number-coding scheme) is temporarily lifted. In addition, the original 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. schedule of the traffic scheme has been extended until 8 p.m.


The new list of Metro Manila roads that will follow the "no window hours" policy starting November 1 is as follows:


  • C1: C.M. Recto Avenue
  • C2: President Quirino Avenue
  • C3: Araneta Avenue
  • C4: EDSA
  • C5: C.P. Garcia Avenue
  • C6: Bulacan-Rizal-Manila-Cavite Regional Expressway
  • R1: Roxas Boulevard
  • R2: Taft Avenue
  • R3: South Luzon Expressway
  • R4: Shaw Boulevard
  • R5: Ortigas Avenue
  • R6: Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard
  • R7: Quezon Avenue/Commonweath Avenue
  • R8: A. Bonifacio Avenue
  • R9: Rizal Avenue
  • R10: Del Pan/Marcos Highway/MacArthur Highway


The "no window hours" policy has also been implemented in Makati, Las Piñas, and Mandaluyong.


Motorists are banned from the abovementioned roads based on the last digit of their license plate: 1 and 2 on Mondays, 3 and 4 on Tuesdays, 5 and 6 on Wednesdays, 7 and 8 on Thursdays, and 9 and 0 on Fridays. This policy does not apply to weekends and holidays.



More stories from

Recommended Videos
Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories