New National Artists named...and everyone was expecting Nora Aunor to be one of them

We join the collective tearing-out-of-hair of Noranians all over the world.

ABS-CBN News correspondent RG Cruz reveals on "President Noynoy Aquino has named new National Artists-but contrary to earlier reports, film superstar Nora Aunor is not one of them."


According to Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) Secretary Sonny Coloma, the new National Artists are:

  • Alice Reyes - Dance
  • Francisco Coching (Posthumous) - Visual Arts
  • Cirilo Bautista - Literature
  • Francisco Feliciano - Music
  • Ramon Santos - Music
  • Jose Maria Zaragoza (Posthumous) - Architecture, Design, and Allied Arts.


Coloma noted that Aquino signed and issued on Thursday, June 19, Proclamation Numbers 807, 808, 809, 810, 811 and 812 declaring the National Artists.


However, the repot pointed out that "Coloma did not explain why Aunor was not among those named."


We demand no less than a Senate hearing for this!


For more on this story, log on to

Recommended Videos
Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories