Tourism-Related Activities Still Prohibited Under Modified ECQ and GCQ

Summer is still canceled.

( Even before an enhanced community quarantine in Luzon was enforced on March 17, local tourist destinations like the hiking trails in the Cordilleras and island-hopping spots in Quezon were already closing their facilities as a safety precaution.

We all knew back then that all the exciting plans we'd made for summer or "dry season" had to be put on hold, and it looks like we have to wait a bit longer before we can enjoy the sun, sand, and surf even with the lifting of the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in most of our beach towns. Both the modified ECQ and general community quarantine, as explained in a press briefing by Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque on May 12, still prohibit the reopening of tourist destinations (such as water parks, beaches, and resorts), travel agencies, tour operators, reservation service, and other tourism-related services.

general community quarantine

Activities centered around entertainment and amusement, especially in Metro Manila, are also out of the question even if they're indoors. Cinemas, theaters, museums, and cultural centers all have to stay closed during ECQ, modified ECQ, and general community quarantine (GCQ).

Inter-island travel—as long as both are under GCQ—is allowed. Strict physical distancing and safety protocols are to be implemented. All flights can resume for places under modified GCQ.

The surf spots in Baler, Aurora (part of Region III), are expected to remain closed during GCQ.
PHOTO BY Bok Hong Archives
Recommended Videos
Anilao in Batangas (Region IV-A), which is famous for their diving spots and beaches, is still closed to tourists.
PHOTO BY Christa I. De La Cruz

As announced on May 11, regions under GCQ from May 16 to May 31 are:

  • Region II
  • Region III
  • Region IV-A (except Laguna)
  • Cordillera Administrative Region
  • Region VII (except Cebu City)
  • Region IX
  • Region XII
  • Region XIII

It was also clarified on May 12 by Roque that places previously declared to be free from any form of quarantine are under modified GCQ:

  • Region I
  • Region IV-B
  • Region V
  • Region VI
  • Region VIII
  • Region X
  • Region XII
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

More from spot

Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories