Indie films dominate this year's MMFF entries

Not a Vic Sotto or Vice Ganda in sight!


( After a massive controversy that led to a congressional hearing and later, major changes in the mechanics, the Metro Manila Film Festival is back with eight official entries. Here's what we know so far about the eight films:



Directed by: Real Florido and Boy San Agustin

Cast: Nora Aunor, Ricky Davao, Ces Quesada, JC de Vera, Jason Abalos, and Victor Neri


Ang Babae sa Septic Tank 2: Forever is Not Enough

Directed by: Marlon N. Rivera

Cast: Eugene Domingo, Jericho Rosales, Kean Cipriano, Cai Cortez, and Joel Torre


Die Beautiful

Directed by: Jun Robles Lana

Cast: Paolo Ballesteros, Luis Alandy, Gladys Reyes, Albie Casino, and Inah de Belen


Saving Sally

Directed by: Avid Liongoren

Cast: Rhian Ramos, Enzo Marcos, and TJ Trinidad



Directed by: Alvin Yapan

Cast: Joem Bascom, Irma Adlawan, and Mercedes Cabral



Directed by: Erik Matti

Cast: Rhed Bustamante, Phoebe Walker, Elora Espano, Neil Ryan Sese, and Ronnie Alonte


Sunday Beauty Queen

Directed by: Baby Ruth Villarama

Cast: Hazel Perdid, Maylyn Jacobo, and Cherry Bretania


Vince & Kath & James

Directed by: Ted Boborol

Cast: Julia Barretto, Joshua Garcia, and Ronnie Alonte


The MMFF will run from December 25, 2016 to January 7, 2017. Some of the criteria used for selecting the eight films include: 40% Story, Audience Appeal, and Overall Impact and 40% Cinematic Attributes and Technical Excellence.


Some notable MMFF snubs include Vice Ganda's Super Parental Guardians, Vic Sotto's Enteng Kabisote 10 and the Abangers, and the seventh Mano Po installment.


More stories from

Recommended Videos
Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories