UPDATED: PCOS machine malfunctions in Noynoy Aquino's precinct, Aquino votes after lining up for 4 hours

UPDATED May 10, 2010, 2:20 p.m.
After waiting in line for four hours at his assigned precinct at a Tarlac elementary school, Senator Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino was finally able to fill in his ballot and vote, according to a GMA live report on TV. However, because the precinct's PCOS machine has not yet been repaired, his ballot, along with those of his fellow voters, will be fed into the machine as soon as it is functioning, the report said.

FIRST POSTED May 10, 2010, 10:30 a.m.

For the latest Philippine news stories and videos, visit GMANews.TV

At around 9 a.m. today, May 10, the precinct count optical scanning (PCOS) machine at Liberal Party presidential candidate Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III's precinct in a Tarlac school stopped functioning due to a paper jam, reports GMANews.tv.

He immediately held a press conference at a classroom in Central Azucarera de Tarlac Elementary School.  "Sana makaboto lahat ng tao...  Inaasahan nating maaayos kaagad; mga isang oras na nga daw ang pilahan ngayon eh," he said as seen on GMA-7's  Eleksyon 2010.

Aquino said he will, of course, wait for voting to resume. When asked why he didn't vote earlier like the other candidates, he said, "Parang kursunada ko talagang bumoto ng 9 o'clock."  Technicians of Smartmatic, supplier of the PCOS machines, are in the process of fixing the machine.

Manual voting, wherein voters fill out their ballots that the Board of Election Inspectors feed into the PCOS later on, is now ongoing at the precinct  but  Aquino chose to wait in line with his sisters Ballsy and Pinky.


Some political candidates have already voted: Lakas-Kampi-CMD presidential candidate Gilbert Teodoro cast his vote in Mayantoc, Tarlac; Bangon Pilipinas presidential candidate Eddie Villanueva in Bocaue, Bulacan; independent presidential candidate Nicanor Perlas in Ortigas Center, Pasig City; Liberal Party vice presidential candidate Mar Roxas in Roxas City, Capiz;   Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino vice presidential candidate Jejomar Binay in Brgy. San Antonio, Makati City; Lakas-Kampi-CMD congressional candidate Gloria Arroyo in Lubao, Pampanga; and Nacionalista Pary congressional candidate Manny Pacquiao in Kiamba, Sarangani.

Recommended Videos

Tell us your #feels!

Total votes
View more stories tagged

Help us make Spot.ph better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories