Disqualified presidentiable Acosta gets more votes than Perlas, Madrigal, and De los Reyes combined

Vetellano Acosta, who was disqualified from the presidential race last March 4, is at the number 7 spot based on the partial and unofficial election results, reports GMAnews.TV. Acosta has garnered 161,305 votes as of 11:06 a.m., May 12, more than the combined votes of Nicanor Perlas, Senator Jamby Madrigal and Olongapo Councilor JC Delos Reyes.

Acosta, who claims to be president of a Palau-based bank, was disqualified by the Comelec when he failed to prove that he could initiate a nationwide campaign without a political party. His candidacy was approved when he filed a motion for reconsideration, with a certificate of nomination from the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan (KBL). KBL, however, failed to submit the certificate of nomination before the Dec. 1, 2009 deadline.

The Liberal Party (LP) also filed a disqualification case against Acosta shortly after the certificates of candidacy were filed last year. The LP took issue with the fact that Acosta was allegedly not the official candidate of the KBL. They also said that Acosta was only running to take the number 1 spot on the alphabetically-arranged list on the election ballot. Thus, he would dislodge Senator Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III's name from the top spot on the ballot.

Acosta was officially disqualified last March 4, 2010. But, by then, the Comelec had already printed out 10 million ballots with his name first among the presidentiables.

Recommended Videos

Tell us your #feels!

Total votes
View more stories tagged

Help us make Spot.ph better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories