Sarah Geronimo is Aliw Awards’ Entertainer of the Year

Aliw Awards presented singer-actress Sarah Geronimo with the "Entertainer of the Year" award on October 18, reports Geronimo, 22, wore a Rajo Laurel gown, and dedicated the award to the late King of Pop Michael Jackson. The pop princess also took home the Best Female Major Concert award for "Record Breaker."

Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao won Aliw’s first International Achievement Award for his boxing feats. Currently training for his November bout against Antonio Margarito, the boxer was unable to personally accept the recognition. Also, TV host Ryan Agoncillo was inducted into the Aliw Hall of Fame for winning the Best Male Emcee award for three consecutive years.

Ryan Agoncillo dedicates his award to his family.

The Aliw Awards gives recognition to the "Philippines’ best in live entertainment," according to Manila Bulletin. Here are the list of winners:

Best Major Concert (Male): Ogie Alcasid (Ogie Live With the Idols)
Best Major Concert (Female): Sarah Geronimo (Record Breaker)
Best Collaboration for a Major Concert: Gary Valenciano and Martin Nievera (As 1)

Best Performance in a Concert (Male): Richard Poon (A Night with Richard Poon)
Best Performance in a Concert (Female): Olivia (Colors of Jazz)
Best Performance in a Concert (Group): La Diva (La Diva)
Best Collaboration in a Concert: Jose Mari Chan and Claire dela Fuente (Simply Unforgettable)

Best Concert Stage Director: Louie Ignacio (La Diva)
Best Musical Director (Concert): Danny Tan (La Diva)

Best Child Performer: Mika Roi Torre
Best New Artist: Jovit Baldivino
Best New Artist (Group): Juan Pablo Dream
Best Choral Group: UP Singing Ambassadors

Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars (Female): Christine Love (Resorts World, Manila)
Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars (Male): RJ Jacinto (Bistro JR)
Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars (Group): Route 70 (Merk’s)

Best Stand-Up Comedian (Male): Jon Santos
Best Stand-Up Comedian (Female): Beverly Salviejo

Best Emcee (Female): Miriam Quiambao
Best Emcee (Male): Boy Abunda

Best Actor (Non-Musical): Bembol Roco (Balun Balunan, Bingi Bingihan)
Best Actor (Musical): Robert Sena (Juan Tamad at 5 Milyon Boto)
Best Actress (Non-Musical): Ana Abad Santos (Mary Stuart)
Best Actress (Musical): Liesl Batucan (Baler Sa Puso Ko)

Best Dance Company (Classical/Folk): Halili-Cruz Dance Company
Best Dance Company (Contemporary/Modern): Bungkos Palay

Best Cultural Group: QC Performing Arts Development Foundation
Best Instrumentalist: Nonoy Libanan (Guitar)

Best Classical Performer (Male): Arthur Espiritu
Best Classical Performer (Female): Camille Lopez Molina

Best Stage Director (Non-Musical): Gardy Labad (Ang Post Office)
Best Stage Director (Musical): Vince Tanada (Enzo)

Best Non-Musical Production: Madonna Brava ng Mindanao (Tanghalang Pilipino)
Best Musical Production: Baler sa Puso Ko (Angara Foundation)


For more on this story, log on to and

Recommended Videos
Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories