LRT-1 Roosevelt to Halt Operations for Construction of Common Station

( The Roosevelt station, at the north end of the Light Rail Transit Line 1, will be temporarily closed from September 5 to December 28, announced the Light Rail Manila Corporation in a statement on August 6. The months-long closure doesn't exactly spell good news for those strapped for transport choices amid the current situation—but the suspension is to make way for the construction of the Unified Grand Central Station (a.k.a. Common Station).


The rest of the stations will remain fully operational—from Baclaran to Balintawak and vice versa—assured management. A shuttle service was originally planned but will not be continued due to the pandemic. There's no word on whether it will push through after the modified ECQ is scheduled to end on August 18.

The complete closure comes after a temporary passenger scheme was implemented in the early months of 2020, when passengers were shuttled between the Balintawak and Roosevelt stations.

"We assure the public that this will only be temporary and the construction of the Common Station, in the long run, will give passengers a more comfortable and reliable commuting experience," promised Enrico Benipayo, chief executive of the Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC). 

Pictures of the Common Station were released by the Department of Transportation were released in December 2019.
PHOTO BY Facebook / DOTr - PH
watch now

The Common Station is what is probably the first connecting terminal for Metro Manila's train lines—and ideally, the answer to our prayers. Located along the corner of EDSA and North Avenue in Quezon City, this massive terminal will link up the existing Metro Rail Transit Line 3 and the Light Rail Transit Line 1 (LRT 1). Eventually passengers will also be able to make their way on and off the platforms of the Metro Rail Transit Line 7 and the Metro Manila Subway—both of which are underway. 

There will be three areas for the Common Station. So far, it has been announced that Area A will be where platforms for the Metro Rail Transit Line 3 (MRT 3) and LRT 1 will be located; Area C will be for the Metro Rail Transit Line 7 (MRT7); Area B, pictured above, will connect the two.

Area A is scheduled to be complete by early 2021—fingers crossed we'll have the Roosevelt Station and much more up and running by then.


Main image from Facebook / Light Rail Manila Corp

Hot Stories You Might Have Missed

Hey, Spotters! Check us out on Viber to join our Community and subscribe to our Chatbot.

Your guide to thriving in
this strange new world.
Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

More Videos You Can Watch

Latest Stories

Load More Stories