Malacañang announces 2011 holidays, only 3 long weekends slated

Malacañang released the list of 2011 holidays yesterday, under Proclamation No. 84.

A. Regular Holidays
New Year's Day - January 1 (Saturday)
Araw ng Kagitingan - April 9 (Saturday)
Maundy Thursday - April 21
Good Friday - April 22
Labor Day - May 1 (Sunday)
Independence Day - June 12 (Sunday)
National Heroes Day - August 29 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day - November 30 (Wednesday)
Christmas Day - December 25 (Sunday)
Rizal Day - December 30 (Friday)

B. Special (Non-Working) Days
Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21 (Sunday)
All Saints Day - November 1 (Tuesday)
Last Day of the Year - December 31 (Saturday)

C. Special Holiday (for all schools)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary - February 25 (Friday)

According to, there will only be three holidays that will give the public long weekends, less than half of the 11 long weekends in 2010.

Eduardo de Mesa, chief presidential legal counsel, told that President Noynoy Aquino has the discretion to move the non-religious holidays to the Monday nearest them. De Mesa cited RA 9492 that says non-religious holidays can be moved "unless otherwise modified by law, and/or proclamation."

For more on this story, log on to and

Share this story with your friends!

Help us make better!
Take the short survey

Read more stories about

Latest Stories

Load More Stories